Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Stats not for me - AVB

Published 25/02/2013 | 09:57

Andre Villas-Boas does not use the popular Prozone system
Andre Villas-Boas does not use the popular Prozone system

Tottenham manager Andre Villas-Boas has dismissed empirical analysis in football as "useless".

  • Go To

It has always been thought that due to his love of detailed dossiers on opposing teams, Villas-Boas was an advocate of Prozone - the technical analysis of almost every part of a player's game - but it turns out that is not the case.

"I have never used Prozone. I don't use it because I don't believe (in it)," the Tottenham manager said.

"You always have to be very, very careful with statistics. It doesn't mean that we negate them completely; we just don't use them to the extent that people might think.

"We have a scientific department that deals with that but, we don't prepare our training or players based on the physical data we get from matches. The mind and how the player feels is much more important for us, rather than statistical data.

"For me it's useless, but it varies from coach to coach. We all have different approaches."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport