Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Sky Sports apologise after ex-referee Dermot Gallagher makes 'Holocaust' reference

Simon Rice

Published 13/02/2013 | 14:20

SKY Sports were forced to apologise today after ex-referee Dermot Gallagher used the word 'Holocaust' when analysing Celtic's Champions League match against Juventus.

The former Premier League referee was critical of a fifth official on duty during last night's Champions League tie who failed to see Juventus striker Alessandro Matri's shot had crossed the line.

Matri's shot was cleared before Claudio Marchisio followed up to score. The assistant referee awarded the goal correctly, despite the fifth official's failure to see the ball had already crossed the line.

Gallagher said: "The problem for me is I don’t think there is any tangible evidence that they (fifth officials) do anything.

"But for a Juventus player following up a shot very, very quickly we could have had another Holocaust last night.

"I am convinced that the assistant and the guy on the goal line don’t know the ball is in."

The comments by Gallagher were quickly picked up on Twitter and Sky Sports News presenters Rob Wooton and Hayley McQueen apologised live on air minutes later.

Gallagher, who retired as a referee in 2007, is a regular analyst on the rolling sports news channel

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport