Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Silva sends support to Rodwell

Published 08/03/2013 | 08:36

Jack Rodwell finds himself on the sidelines yet again
Jack Rodwell finds himself on the sidelines yet again

Manchester City playmaker David Silva has backed team-mate Jack Rodwell to bounce back from his latest injury setback.

Rodwell faces another month on the sidelines after limping out of Monday's Barclays Premier League win at Aston Villa with yet another hamstring problem. The 21-year-old, whose City career since a £12million summer move from Everton is yet to take off, has a history of such injuries and only returned to action in January after a three-month lay-off.

Spain World Cup winner Silva said: "It's a great shame he is injured again after getting back into the team and playing in the last two games."

He added: "I have never been injured in the same way, but I know what it's like to have an injury where you can't see the end of the tunnel.

"Jack needs to know that in the end you get there, you just have to keep walking until you start to see the light again.

"He has worked really really hard already, but he needs to keep concentrating, and he will be back with us."

Manager Roberto Mancini was expected to give fitness updates on two other injured players on Friday morning as he met media to preview this weekend's FA Cup quarter-final against Barnsley.

Despite being close to a return on a couple of occasions, captain Vincent Kompany has now missed six games with a calf injury and it remains uncertain whether he will feature against the Tykes at the Etihad Stadium.

Striker Sergio Aguero pulled out of the Villa Park game with a knee problem and has tweeted pictures of himself undergoing treatment. He has not indicated how long he might be out but said he is "leaving this injury behind slowly but steadily".

Victory on Saturday would take City back to Wembley and a step closer to repeating their 2011 FA Cup success.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport