Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sigurdsson urges Spurs to keep battling

Published 27/02/2013 | 16:06

Gylfi Sigurdsson, left, believes there is plenty more to come from Gareth Bale, right
Gylfi Sigurdsson, left, believes there is plenty more to come from Gareth Bale, right

Midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson has warned the race for Champions League football will not be over even if Tottenham beat arch-rivals Arsenal at White Hart Lane on Sunday.

Gareth Bale's superb goal in injury-time secured a hard-fought 3-2 win at West Ham on Monday night, which moved Spurs up into third place in the Barclays Premier League and four points ahead of the Gunners, who are fifth. Sigurdsson, though, maintains his side can not take their foot off the gas even if Arsene Wenger's men get a sound beating this weekend.

"It is going to be a massive game for us," said the Iceland international, who bundled in his first Premier League goal for Spurs which sparked a late comeback at Upton Park. "However, anything is possible in football. The league was won in the last minute on the last day, so even if we beat them it is not finished."

He added: "First, though, we have to beat them to start thinking about that. It will be a great atmosphere. Hopefully we can get a win and stay above Chelsea.

"We want to get in to the Champions League, that is our aim. If we achieve that, we want to finish as high as we can."

The form of Wales international Bale has been key to Tottenham's drive up the table, with eight goals in his last six matches - many of which proving key.

The 23-year-old has been compared to the best around in the game at the moment and Sigurdsson feels there is plenty more to come from his all-action team-mate.

"Probably Cristiano (Ronaldo), (Lionel) Messi and Gareth are up there, they are all outstanding players and Gareth showed it again at the end that he can do something special," he said.

"I hope he can continue developing over the next few years and do something amazing

"He still has a few years to go to reach his peak because he is still young and you probably hit your peak when you are 27."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport