Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Short eyeing director of football

Published 06/03/2014 | 15:57

Ellis Short could be ready to appoint a new director of football at Sunderland
Ellis Short could be ready to appoint a new director of football at Sunderland

Sunderland owner Ellis Short is closing in on a new director of football as he plans for the long-term future.

  • Go To

It is understood the club is ready to hand Lee Congerton the chance to succeed Roberto De Fanti at the Stadium of Light and oversee the club's recruitment wing.

Former Chelsea chief scout Congerton is currently employed as Hamburg's technical director after following Frank Arnesen from Stamford Bridge to Germany.

Short, who dispensed with De Fanti's services in January, is keen to persist with the model he adopted ahead of last summer's overhaul while Paolo Di Canio was still manager.

However, the 14 signings, 13 of them from overseas, made under the Italian failed to make the desired impact during the early months of the campaign and Di Canio was shown the door in September.

De Fanti lasted a further four months, but it soon became apparent that new boss Gus Poyet wanted more of a say in the club's January signings with then Brighton midfielder Liam Bridcutt his number one target.

Poyet's involvement in the winter transfer window - along with chief executive Margaret Byrne - proved time-consuming, and help on that front would be welcome, although perhaps on a different basis to the formula which existed on his arrival.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport