Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sevilla through to final after dramatic Mbia strike

Valencia 3 Seville 1

Published 01/05/2014 | 22:17

Stephane Mbia celebrates after scoring the crucial goal against Valencia.
Stephane Mbia celebrates after scoring the crucial goal against Valencia.

Sevilla snatched a place in the final of the Europa League when a 94th-minute Stephane Mbia header put the Spanish side through on away goals after their semi-final tie against Valencia ended 3-3 on aggregate.

Despite going down 3-1 at Valencia on Thursday, Sevilla set up a final showdown with Benfica after the Portuguese club eliminated Juventus 2-1 on aggregate.

Sevilla won last week's first leg 2-0 at home but a 14th-minute Sofiane Feghouli strike, an own goal from goalkeeper Beto in the 26th and a Jeremy Mathieu goal 21 minutes from time put Valencia 3-0 ahead on the night and 3-2 ahead overall.

The home side were just over a minute away from going through to the May 14 final when Federico Fazio flicked on a long throw and Mbia rose to crash a header into the net and silence the Valencia fans packed into the Mestalla.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport