Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA 2

Rep of Ireland IRL 1

REPORT

Germany GER 1

Slovakia SVK 0

Ongoing

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sensational Thiago volley earns Bayern last-gasp win

Published 29/01/2014 | 21:15

Thiago Alcantara of Muenchen scores his team's second goal during the Bundesliga match between VfB Stuttgart and FC Bayern Muenchen
Thiago Alcantara of Muenchen scores his team's second goal during the Bundesliga match between VfB Stuttgart and FC Bayern Muenchen

Thiago Alcantara's sensational flying volley in stoppage-time earned Bayern Munich a 2-1 win at VfB Stuttgart on Wednesday, extending their unbeaten run to 43 league games and increasing their Bundesliga lead to 13 points.

The Spaniard completed what had looked like an unlikely Bayern comeback, thundering in his volley in full flight seconds from the end to lift his side to 50 points.

The Bavarians looked to heading towards their first league defeat since October 2012 when Bosnia international Vedad Ibisevic pounced from what looked like an offside position to beat keeper Manuel Neuer in the 29th minute.

Last season's treble winners were clearly lacking their usual offensive drive with wingers Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery injured and holding midfielders Bastian Schweinsteiger and Javi Martinez yet to make their comebacks this year.

Bayern's top striker Mario Mandzukic, dropped from the squad last week for lack of commitment in training, was back in but left on the bench at the start of the game which was postponed in December.

Stuttgart conceded little space, pressing the Bavarians high in their own half and the hosts were rewarded with Ibisevic's 10th goal of the campaign.

Bayern left their comeback fight late and in a frantic last 20 minutes had Stuttgart boxed in and on the back foot.

Substitute Claudio Pizarro, the Bundesliga's all-time foreign leading scorer, timed his header perfectly to meet a Thiago free kick in the 76th minute before the Spaniard scored with a fierce volley past hapless keeper Sven Ulreich.

Reuters

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport