Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rooney unhappy with TV criticism

Published 24/11/2013 | 23:51

Wayne Rooney vented his frustrations on Twitter
Wayne Rooney vented his frustrations on Twitter

Wayne Rooney has criticised television commentator Martin Tyler and pundit Graeme Souness for their reactions to the controversial incident involving the Manchester United striker in Sunday's match at Cardiff.

  • Go To

Rooney escaped a red card early on in the 2-2 draw when he kicked Jordon Mutch before lashing out at the Cardiff midfielder with his left hand as his run was blocked off.

The England striker, who was only shown a yellow card, admitted it was a bad tackle but felt the television coverage was unfair, highlighting a later incident in the match which saw Cardiff midfielder Gary Medel raise his hands to the face of United's Marouane Fellaini as the duo jostled in the area.

Rooney tweeted on Sunday night: "Just watched game back. I agree mine was bad tackle and ref dealt with it. And Martin Tyler didn't shut up about it all game.

"Then someone slaps someone in face and he doesn't speak a word about it. I like Martin but that's poor from him

"Sourness the rules are u kick out u should be off. Souness medel gives left hook he's done his job. Haha brilliant."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport