Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Rooney demands game time

Jason Burt

Published 18/08/2013 | 05:00

Wayne Rooney
Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney has publicly told David Moyes that he needs a run of games to regain "100 per cent" fitness even though he is still pushing for a move to Chelsea.

Rooney, who came on as a substitute in Manchester United's 4-1 victory at Swansea, also voiced his frustration at a difficult pre-season for him. He refused to discuss his United future but is still considering whether to submit a transfer request to see whether he can drive through a move to Chelsea before the transfer window closes on September 2. United are adamant he will not be sold this summer.

Rooney admitted he was still lacking in "sharpness" and, pointedly, he again thanked England manager Roy Hodgson for playing him, but did not mention his club.

"You obviously need that sharpness," Rooney said. "I haven't had that many training sessions with the first team (at United) because they have been away. I might be lacking that bit of sharpness but hopefully that will come. I need to try and get a few more games in.

"You always look forward to having a good pre-season. Unfortunately I got the injury to my hamstring and then to my shoulder. I have been working hard on the training ground trying to get myself fit and I was just thankful to get the minutes in against Scotland. That's thanks to the manage (Hodgson)."

Rooney said it was now important for him to "kick on" from his international appearance. "I had a few painkillers for the shoulder injury," he added. "It was great to have the minutes and now I'm looking forward to hopefully getting a few games."

Sunday Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport