Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rodgers staying grounded after win

Published 18/02/2013 | 06:41

Brendan Rodgers admits there is still work to be done at Liverpool
Brendan Rodgers admits there is still work to be done at Liverpool

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers insists he will not get carried away by a 5-0 thrashing of a lacklustre Swansea side at Anfield.

  • Go To

The victory, which made it 17 goals scored and just two conceded in five home matches which have brought 12 points, moved the Reds back up to seventh in the Barclays Premier League table but still nine points adrift of fourth-placed Tottenham having played one match more.

However, Rodgers admits there is plenty of work still to do in the remaining 11 matches, saying: "I am an optimist, you have to be, but we'll not get too carried away. I've likened us to a marathon runner just getting ready for the finish line, ready to make our move, and then we trip ourselves up."

He went on: "That is something we have to change going forward for the remainder of the season and finish as strong as we can."

The slip-ups came earlier in the week as having lost 2-0 to West Brom, ending a run of three successive Anfield victories, they also lost by the same scoreline to Zenit St Petersburg in the Europa League.

But with Swansea manager Michael Laudrup doing his predecessor a favour by naming an understrength side as he looks to Sunday's Capital One Cup final, Liverpool were able to take advantage.

Steven Gerrard opened the scoring with a first-half penalty, making up for the spot-kick he failed with against the Baggies with the game still goalless, before a brilliant burst just after half-time secured the result.

Within 16 seconds of the restart £8.5million January signing Philippe Coutinho, on his full debut, made it 2-0 and within 10 minutes Jose Enrique and Luis Suarez had doubled that advantage.

It was only left to Daniel Sturridge, generously handed the duties by Gerrard, to convert Liverpool's second penalty of the afternoon and Swansea were dispatched with consummate ease.

"It was an important three points," said Rodgers. "We've had a bumpy road in terms of games Monday and Thursday but the Premier League is very important for us and we knew we had to show focus and determination."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport