Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Rodgers rues 'poor day at the office'

Published 17/03/2013 | 09:21

Brendan Rodgers criticised Liverpool's defending in their loss at Southampton
Brendan Rodgers criticised Liverpool's defending in their loss at Southampton

Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers admitted his side were well beaten as they crashed to a 3-1 defeat at Southampton.

  • Go To

The Reds arrived at St Mary's on the back of four successive wins but were second best from start to finish.

"We just weren't very good. It was as simple as that," Rodgers said. "If you start a game the way we started it then it is very difficult at this level to get back."

He went on: "We only started to play when we were 2-0 down. We got it back to 2-1 and we were better in the second half but then conceded another very poor goal.

"(It) was a poor day at the office. The problem is we have to live with it for a couple of weeks now."

Rodgers was most aggrieved at the way his side defended.

"When you concede the goals we conceded it is always going to be difficult to win games," Rodgers said. "It's something I know that we need to improve. We need to develop as a group. We didn't defend or play as well as we can. I know the areas where we can improve."

Southampton's win was just their second in the league under manager Mauricio Pochettino, and he said: "I think we set out the game in a very positive way.

"Most importantly the players believed in the way we set up. I think we made Liverpool really uncomfortable on the pitch.

"We pressed them quite a lot and we put in a really big effort. I think my team played really well."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport