Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rodgers plots fresh title assault

Published 10/08/2014 | 07:35

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers is confident he will be able to win the title
Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers is confident he will be able to win the title

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers insists he can lead the club to a Premier League title - perhaps as soon as this season.

Rodgers' side were in pole position to win it last season until Steven Gerrard's costly slip gifted Chelsea victory at Anfield, and when they then let a three-goal lead slip against Crystal Palace it allowed Manchester City to take the eventual honours.

The loss of Luis Suarez, sold to Barcelona after being banned from football for four months for biting an opponent while on World Cup duty with Uruguay, has many observers predicting a Reds regression this season.

But the ever-upbeat Rodgers has no doubts.

"I wasn't lying on a sun lounger on a beach over the summer crying and fretting over the fact that we lost the league," he told the Sunday Mirror. " There is only an excitement and a belief inside the club that we can challenge again for the title this time.

"We proved last season that we can handle the pressure of a title run-in. I know people will point to the Chelsea and Crystal Palace games, but they should look instead at our last 14 games.

"Twelve wins, one draw, one defeat. That kind of form usually wins you the title. So I know we can cope with the pressure. What we didn't get was that wee bit of luck you need along the way.

"We just didn't get the breaks when we needed them most, but I believe that we will be back up there, challenging, and Liverpool Football Club is a very exciting place to be at this current time.

"Last season was a great step forward and now we must believe that we can go one better.

"If it doesn't happen this year, then it will happen soon. I really believe that because of what we're building at the club."

Liverpool open their league campaign at home to Southampton on August 17.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport