Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rodgers draws line under ref row

Published 10/01/2014 | 15:42

Brendan Rodgers has no regrets over the comments that landed him an £8,000 fine
Brendan Rodgers has no regrets over the comments that landed him an £8,000 fine

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers has no regrets over his comments about referee Lee Mason but backed away from the argument to avoid further distraction to his side's top-four push.

The Reds boss was fined £8,000 after accepting a Football Association charge for questioning the integrity of a referee following the Boxing Day defeat at Manchester City.

Rodgers argued a referee from the Greater Manchester area - Mason is from Bolton - should not have been appointed to a game involving a Manchester team.

However, with his fourth-placed team challenging for a return to the Champions League, the Northern Irishman decided not to take the matter further.

"My view hasn't changed. I obviously accept the punishment but I'm not one who is the enemy to the officials," he said.

"My history will show that, I have always supported and encouraged them.

"I was disappointed after the game, disappointed with the outcome (the fine) considering my history but all I was doing was speaking honestly and in no way was I questioning the integrity of the referee.

"I was just talking about the logic and facts about other appointments would prove that true I am sure.

"But it is gone. The only reason I never challenged it was because I didn't want anything getting in the way of what we are trying to do here.

"It would just prolong it and be something else to talk about when all I want is for us to talk about is our football."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport