Sport Soccer

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Robbie Keane back in full training for Ireland

Published 13/10/2013 | 18:20

Republic of Ireland's Robbie Keane
Republic of Ireland's Robbie Keane

Robbie Keane could be back to skipper Ireland against Kazakhstan on Tuesday night after he resumed full training today.

The Irish squad  trained in Malahide this afternoon with no injuries to report from Friday night’s defeat to Germany.

Richard Dunne and John O’Shea also returned to train with the squad after being suspended for the Germany game.

Earlier, Noel King said that he would give Keane every opportunity to be fit for the World Cup qualifier against Kazakhstan.

"I am hoping he is fit for selection."

Celtic's Anthony Stokes played the lone striker role at the Rhein Energie Stadium in Cologne and on another night could have emerged with a hat-trick, and he would appear to be the leading candidate for the job once again if Keane did not make it.

King's resources were boosted following his squad's return from Germany when defenders Richard Dunne and John O'Shea, who were suspended for the first half of the double-header, joined up.

King said: "They are all good and looking forward to it. It's good to see them in and added to the squad.

"We will do a little bit of training (on Sunday) afternoon and we will see. There are a few tired legs, a few tired bodies, few tired minds, and there's a few anxious and fit-as-a-fiddle minds as well, so it's a combination of things we have to deal with."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport