Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Relaxed Reds can shine - Vidic

Published 04/05/2013 | 14:06

Nemanja Vidic insists Manchester United want to finish the season in 'good style'
Nemanja Vidic insists Manchester United want to finish the season in 'good style'

Nemanja Vidic is hoping a relaxed Manchester United signals bad news for Chelsea at Old Trafford.

  • Go To

United's status as Premier League champions has been confirmed for nearly a fortnight now. Yet, such was the overwhelming nature of their 20th title it will be another week before they get to collect the trophy and 24 hours after that until they get the chance to parade their hard-won silverware around the city.

"Motivation won't be a problem for us," said Vidic. "We are motivated every time we step out at Old Trafford. When we go into the games we have a mentality to win which is not going to change against Chelsea or anyone else."

Sir Alex Ferguson, who is to have a hip operation that could see him miss the start of the season, has already felt moved to warn his players their planned visit to Chester Races on Wednesday will be scrapped should their performance not come up to scratch.

But Vidic does not believe there will be a problem and added: "The only difference is we are relaxed. We are not chasing points for the trophy. That means we can play without pressure and actually enjoy the game.

"We want to finish in a good style."

It has been a matter of some bewilderment at Old Trafford that a championship achieved in such commanding fashion has been accompanied by so much doubt over the ability within Ferguson's present squad.

After all, Vidic has now won five titles in seven full seasons as a United player, and missed out on the other two by a point in 2010 and goal difference last season.

"You cannot make people think differently," he said. "They have to believe what they believe. I don't think you can judge how good this team was until this generation leaves and another one comes in.

"I don't have a problem with that. I just want to win as many trophies as I can."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport