Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Redknapp not concerned by finances

Published 08/03/2013 | 12:31

Harry Redknapp insists the finances at QPR are none of his business
Harry Redknapp insists the finances at QPR are none of his business

Harry Redknapp has faith in the way QPR's financial future is being handled but admits it is vital he plays his part by keeping the club in the top flight.

  • Go To

QPR released accounts this week that showed their wage bill had doubled to £56million in the year to May 31, 2012. They have since strengthened further with a number of high-earning players brought to Loftus Road, including Loic Remy and Christopher Samba in January.

Relegation could have serious implications but Redknapp is convinced the owners know what they are doing, and said: "If the debts are high the chairman and the board must understand that. They're not silly men, they're successful businessmen. They know what they're doing so I'll leave it to them. It's their business."

He added: "It's important obviously (to stay up). But when you are a football manager we are not involved in that side of the business.

"I've said it a million times, we are not involved in players' wages. That's done at a different level to what we work. We work with the team and on the pitch. The financial side of it I don't know. Those results were from before I came here."

Redknapp's men meet a Sunderland side not yet out of trouble themselves on Saturday with the former Tottenham boss revealing the signings of Remy and Samba were driven by chairman Tony Fernandes.

"You don't keep going to them and saying you want to bring in this player or that player," added Redknapp.

"The chairman said to me in the window he wanted to make the two big signings. He did all the work in doing that. He brought the players to the club. I couldn't really take an awful lot of credit for those signings to be honest.

"He did that. He met the players and the agents. He did the deals and persuaded the players to come to QPR. It was great for the club. It's up to them.

"You couldn't get nicer people than the people that own QPR. I mean that genuinely. They're fantastic people."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport