Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


QPR move for Ferdinand and Caulker

Published 04/07/2014 | 00:52

Rio Ferdinand is on the verge of returning to a London-based club
Rio Ferdinand is on the verge of returning to a London-based club

QPR are set to sign former England captain Rio Ferdinand and have agreed a fee with Cardiff for Steven Caulker, manager Harry Redknapp has confirmed.

The 35-year-old defender is available on a free transfer having been released by Manchester United at the end of his contract, and following his return from media duties at the World Cup is set for a move back to London, where he started his career at West Ham under Redknapp.

Former Tottenham centre-back Caulker, rated at some £8million, is another target for the newly-promoted Hoops, but the Cardiff captain is also attracting interest from the likes of Liverpool, Everton and Southampton.

"Rio has agreed to join us and we're hopeful of getting that one over the line when he gets back from the World Cup," Redknapp said to Telegraph Sport.

"I can't foresee any problems with it and we'd be delighted if we can get it done soon.

"He's been a player at the top of the list since he left Manchester United and he would give the whole place a lift with his quality and experience."

Redknapp hopes Caulker, 22, will also opt to head to Loftus Road.

The QPR boss added: "We've agreed a fee with Cardiff and it's now up to Steven to decide his next move.

"I know him well from Spurs and he's always been a tremendous prospect. Hopefully that's another one we can get done."

Earlier this week, QPR - promoted via the play-off final at Wembley - announced the release of Aaron Hughes, Stephane Mbia and Andrew Johnson at the end of their contracts, while midfielder Alejandro Faurlin has signed a contract extension.

Goalkeeper Rob Green and striker Bobby Zamora are also in talks over possible new deals.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport