Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


United's Carrington pitches relaid at van Gaal's demand

Published 23/07/2014 | 02:30

New Manchester United manager Louis Van Gaal wants close attention paid to the details when it comes to the facilities at the club. Photo: REUTERS/Nigel Roddis
New Manchester United manager Louis Van Gaal wants close attention paid to the details when it comes to the facilities at the club. Photo: REUTERS/Nigel Roddis

Manchester United have ripped up two training pitches at their Carrington training ground in order to fast-track Louis van Gaal's demand for better facilities at the club.

Former Dutch manager Van Gaal has made a series of recommendations for improvements and the first of these were instigated yesterday, with executive vice-chairman Ed Woodword authorising the installation of two Desso playing surfaces at Carrington which will replicate the pitch at Old Trafford.

The new surfaces should be ready at Carrington in six weeks and the squad will train on one of the many other pitches at their training ground until the new Desso turf has settled sufficiently.

United committed £800,000 to a new Wembley-style, part-synthetic surface at Old Trafford at the end of the 2013-14, which was installed by Desso and has been well received.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport