Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Thomas Vermaelen agrees to join United

Defender's departure to fierce rivals Manchester United would be another blow for Arsenal after losing Bacary Sagna to Manchester City

MATT LAW

Published 16/06/2014 | 07:44

Arsenal captain Thomas Vermaelen has agreed a deal in principle to join Manchester United this summer.

  • Go To

United must now agree a fee with Arsenal after the World Cup, but Vermaelen hopes to move to Old Trafford and is preparing to leave the Emirates.

Central defender Vermaelen only has one year remaining on his Arsenal contract and has found himself pushed out of manager Arsene Wenger’s first-choice team by Laurent Koscielny and Per Mertesacker.

New United manager Louis van Gaal is desperate to strengthen United’s defence and believes Vermaelen can find his best form under him.

The 28-year-old has been at Arsenal for five years after signing from Dutch club Ajax. He got off to a superb start with the Gunners, but injuries curtailed his progress.

Vermaelen earns around £70,000-a-week and it is understood he has verbally agreed a deal with United that would see him pocket around £100,000-a-week.

Arsenal cannot expect to receive more than £10million for Vermaelen with only a year remaining on his contract.

Vermaelen is currently with the Belgium squad in Brazil for the World Cup, but wants his future sorted out as quickly as possible once the tournament ends.

He shares the same agent as Robin van Persie and that is understood to have been key to United’s interest.

Arsenal have been preparing for the possible departure of Vermaelen by lining up a number of defensive targets including Steven Caulker and Virgil van Dijk.

Although Vermaelen is not a first-team starter for Arsenal any more, his departure to United would be another blow for Wenger after losing Bacary Sagna to Manchester City.

Telegraph.co.uk

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport