Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sturridge wants to help Suarez win golden boot

Published 18/02/2013 | 12:23

Liverpool's Daniel Sturridge (right) battles for the ball with Swansea City's Garry Monk (left) during the Barclays Premier League match at Anfield
Liverpool's Daniel Sturridge (right) battles for the ball with Swansea City's Garry Monk (left) during the Barclays Premier League match at Anfield

DANIEL STURRIDGE is keen to help his fellow Liverpool frontman Luis Suarez secure this season's Barclays Premier League Golden Boot award.

  • Go To

Suarez's strike in yesterday's 5-0 win over Swansea at Anfield took his tally to 18 league goals for the campaign and the Uruguay international is currently the division's second-highest scorer.

Only Manchester United striker Robin van Persie - on 19 goals - is ahead of Suarez at this point in the Golden Boot standings and Sturridge plans to do everything he can to boost his team-mate's chances of reaching the number one spot by the end of 2012-13.

Asked if he thought Suarez could claim the award this term, Sturridge said: "I don't see why not. There are 11 games left for us so I'm sure he can.

"I'll try to help him get there and give him opportunities.

"It's always good to get individual glories as a player because they're the things you can look back on at the end of your career and tell your grandchildren you were top scorer for that season.

"I'm sure he'll be gunning for that and I'll try to help him get there."

After Suarez's effort made it 4-0 yesterday, Sturridge netted Liverpool's fifth with a penalty, leaving the England forward's record since joining the Reds from Chelsea in January showing five goals in seven appearances in all competitions.

The other scorers for the Reds, who moved up to seventh place with the win, were Steven Gerrard with another spot-kick, Philippe Coutinho and Jose Enrique.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport