Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Return of Premier League casts pall over idyllic break

Ger Gilroy

Published 06/08/2014 | 02:30

The Premier League returns to our screens next week. Photo: Alex Livesey/Getty Images
The Premier League returns to our screens next week. Photo: Alex Livesey/Getty Images

We'd had an amazing time on holidays, the weather had been fine and the lakeside cottage in Mayo had seen trout leaping and ducks waddling, enthralling our toddler, who decided that they would both eat bread, and so they did.

  • Go To

The people of Mayo live in a wonderland – the thought idly struck me that they keep it a bit secret, and maybe only when they start bragging about it will they win an All-Ireland, a cosmic payback for sharing their landscape with the rest of us.

I saw almost no sport for a week, the lack of 3G preventing me from bearing witness properly to Kildare's latest heartbreak. It was one of those breaks that lapsed rather than ended, we might even be able to take this feeling into real life.

We were driving over to a family dinner and everyone was happy. The perfect moment to drop the bombshell.

"Football's back next week". An anguished howl. The holiday was over.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport