Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL 1

Belgium BEL 1

Ongoing

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jose Mourinho: I want to be England manager one day

Published 19/06/2014 | 12:55

Chelsea Manager Jose Mourinho. (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)
Chelsea Manager Jose Mourinho. (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has admitted he would consider managing England in future after previously turning down the advances of the Football Association.

  • Go To

Mourinho was approached to succeed Steve McClaren after leaving Chelsea in September 2007, but rejected the opportunity after consulting his wife Matilde, who believed her husband would miss the day-to-day involvement of club management.

The Portuguese last season spoke of the possibility of one day becoming an international boss.

And although it would not for the foreseeable future, he could envisage managing England.

Asked if he would ever manage England, Mourinho told ITV News London: "Yes. Not now. Not seven years ago when I had the chance. I made the right decision, my wife helped me make the right decision.

"Not now. No way. Too young, too strong, too much appetite to train every day, to play every game, to play three times a week, too much appetite still.

"But I like your country very, very much. I feel at home.

"Of course the passport doesn't change, the heart doesn't change.

"I'm Portuguese 100 per cent but I love your country and if one day the opportunity arises, why not?"

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport