Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Evra signs one-year extension despite United move for Southampton star Shaw

Published 24/05/2014 | 02:30

Patrice Evra is an influential character in the Manchester United dressing room. Photo: Michael Regan/Getty Images
Patrice Evra is an influential character in the Manchester United dressing room. Photo: Michael Regan/Getty Images

Patrice Evra has signed a one-year contract extension at Manchester United.

The Frenchman was considering leaving United after eight years at the club, but he has decided to extend his contract, which was due to expire next week, by another 12 months.

Evra looked set to exit after it emerged that United had tabled a £27m bid for Southampton left-back Luke Shaw.

But the defender has opted to remain until the end of Louis van Gaal's first year in charge.

Evra, who was reported to be in talks with Juventus earlier this week, would help Shaw's transition into the United first team, should the club complete the signing of the England international this summer.

United fans have taken the 33-year-old to their hearts since he joined from Monaco in 2006.

Evra is a popular member of the dressing-room, too, and is renowned for his leadership skills.

The former Nice defender showed glimpses of decent form last season, despite a woeful campaign under David Moyes.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport