Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Croatian club deny Manchester City's racism claims

Published 24/07/2014 | 02:30

Seko Fofana claimed he suffered racial abuse during the game between Manchester City's Elite Development Squad and Croatian side HNK Rijeka. Photo: Jan Kruger/Getty Images
Seko Fofana claimed he suffered racial abuse during the game between Manchester City's Elite Development Squad and Croatian side HNK Rijeka. Photo: Jan Kruger/Getty Images

Croatian club HNK Rijeka have strenuously denied any of their players racially abused Manchester City's Seko Fofana in a friendly.

  • Go To

City's elite development squad coach Patrick Vieira took his team off the pitch when the 19-year-old French midfielder made the allegations after being sent off just before half-time.

It is understood the move was supported by City officials and Vieira has received the backing of anti-discrimination network FARE. However, Rijeka have issued a statement in which they dismiss the allegations.

"Rijeka clearly and unequivocally rejects any possibility that the players in the match against Manchester City participated in assaulting the rival players on racial, religious or ethnic grounds," said a statement on the club's website.

"We want to point out the fact that we mentioned at the game we had six players from the Nigeria squad, players who live and train together with our other players, who learned the Croatian language and who have never experienced any discomfort by team-mates – as they themselves can attest to."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport