Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Blues fans are behind me – Rafa

Published 09/04/2013 | 05:00

Rafa Benitez
Rafa Benitez

Interim Chelsea manager Rafael Benitez believes he has more support among Blues fans than might be apparent.

The Spaniard has found himself under fire from sections of the Chelsea faithful since his appointment in November due to his prior association with Liverpool.

However, the 52-year-old says he has also received backing from many supporters which will not have been noticed.

"I have to say the fans are very good to me in the street," he said. "Many Blues fans stop me and tell me to keep on working and not to listen to the critics. I have a lot more day-to-day support than is shown."

Benitez added of the criticism he has received: "It's not so much. We know there are four or five banners and they repeat them a lot.

"As well as that, this particular group, from the first moment and only because of my past at Liverpool, are against me. They don't criticise my work or the team's play, and I can't change that."

Sunday's win over Sunderland saw Chelsea move back above Tottenham into third place in the league, while they are through to the last four of the FA Cup and in the quarter-finals of the Europa League.

Asked to analyse his time in charge, Benitez said: "I think we are doing a great job. We are in the semi-finals of the FA Cup, in the quarter-finals of the Europa League and we are third in the Premier League. I think we are fulfilling our objectives."

Benitez is expected to leave this summer and has been touted as a possible replacement for Jose Mourinho at Real Madrid if the Portuguese calls time on his stint at the Bernabeu.

Madrid-born Benitez said of that speculation: "I was there from the age of 13 as a player and then a coach. It's nice to be linked, but it doesn't make me lose my focus on the present, which is Chelsea."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport