Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Players accepting Mourinho return

Published 24/05/2013 | 21:27

Jose Mourinho is expected to return to Stamford Bridge for a second stint as manager
Jose Mourinho is expected to return to Stamford Bridge for a second stint as manager

Chelsea's players appear to have grown used to the likelihood of Jose Mourinho returning return to the club.

  • Go To

The flamboyant Portuguese boss is expected to take charge at Stamford Bridge for a second time this summer after it was confirmed he is to leave Real Madrid at the end of the Spanish season.

Blues goalkeeper Petr Cech, who arrived in the same summer as Mourinho nine years ago, said: "He is a great manager and I think everyone remembers how successful we were with him as a manager. If he could reproduce that it would be fantastic."

Chelsea have been under the caretaker charge of interim boss Rafael Benitez - one of Mourinho's great rivals - since Champions League winner Roberto di Matteo was sacked last November.

Benitez overcame huge fan hostility born out of his past associations with Liverpool to steer the club to Europa League glory and a place in the Champions League once again.

The Benitez reign comes to an end after Chelsea take on Manchester City in the second of two lucrative post-season friendlies at Yankee Stadium in New York this weekend.

Real Madrid conclude their campaign on June 1 and a new appointment is anticipated soon after that.

Striker Demba Ba, who only joined the club in January, is also positive about the prospect of being managed by Mourinho.

The Senegal international said: "We will see if he joins us first - but you see what he has won, what he has brought to his teams and to his players individually, and of course he is one of the best.

"Everybody is thinking about it and everybody is happy. They know that he is a person that wants to win."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport