Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Perez: United wanted Ancelotti

Published 28/05/2014 | 16:47

Florentino Perez, pictured, claims Sir Alex Ferguson wanted Carlo Ancelotti to succeed him
Florentino Perez, pictured, claims Sir Alex Ferguson wanted Carlo Ancelotti to succeed him

Sir Alex Ferguson wanted Carlo Ancelotti to succeed him as Manchester United manager last summer, according to Real Madrid president Florentino Perez.

  • Go To

Ferguson said he hand-picked David Moyes to follow him into the United hot-seat after 26 years in charge.

But the then Everton boss may not have been Ferguson's first choice, according to Real Madrid chief Perez.

He claims Ferguson approached Ancelotti last year to offer him the chance to take over at Old Trafford, but he claims the Italian opted for Real Madrid instead.

"I'm absolutely sure (they did)," Perez told Radio Cope when asked if United wanted Ancelotti as their manager.

"Not this year, but last year. Ferguson asked him to succeed him."

Former Chelsea boss Ancelotti led Madrid to their 10th European Cup and the Copa del Rey in his first season in charge at the Bernabeu.

Moyes was sacked just 10 months into his six-year contract after United failed to secure Champions League qualification for the first time in 24 years.

Holland coach Louis van Gaal will take over the helm at Old Trafford following the World Cup.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport