Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Pearson targets three new additions

Published 25/08/2014 | 11:51

Esteban Cambiasso is believed to be closing in on a move to Leicester
Esteban Cambiasso is believed to be closing in on a move to Leicester

Leicester boss Nigel Pearson is eyeing three new players before the end of the transfer window as the Foxes close in on Esteban Cambiasso.

Manager Pearson confirmed talks have progressed with the former Inter Milan midfielder, who is available on a free transfer.

The ex-Argentina international could be in before Leicester host Arsenal in the Barclays Premier League on Sunday ahead of Monday's transfer deadline.

He is available after leaving Inter following 10 years at the San Siro and Pearson remains upbeat over the deal.

Pearson said: "Cambiasso is still a possibility. There's been progress over the weekend so I'm more hopeful than I was on Friday and Saturday but until there is a definitive answer I'm loath to talk too much. But I am hopeful it can be done in the next couple of days.

"We've been trying to do business and it has not materialised so far. But hopefully this week we can still do business and bring players in that we want to bring in.

"I recognise there is a need for added numbers and we have to do that in this window. There are subtle differences this year to last year.

"We've been very positive but it is nice to have different options.

"Two or three hopefully is the aim. It would be nice to be able to achieve that."

Leicester host Shrewsbury, where Pearson started his career, in the Capital One Cup on Tuesday without Danny Drinkwater (hamstring), Jamie Vardy (thigh) and Matty James (shin).

Pearson added: "Danny will be introduced back into training this week so may be available for the week. Matty's shin is still sore so we will have to take that one at the right pace especially with a break coming up."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport