Sport Soccer

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Pearson still looking to add

Published 21/08/2014 | 16:41

Nigel Pearson has been frustrated in the transfer market
Nigel Pearson has been frustrated in the transfer market

Leicester manager Nigel Pearson is hopeful of further bolstering his rookie Barclays Premier League squad despite hinting at his frustration with the recruitment process.

  • Go To

A deal for former Argentina midfielder Esteban Cambiasso has still not been done despite the move dragging on for several weeks, with the Foxes boss unsure whether the signing will be completed.

Pearson, who has signed the likes of Leonardo Ulloa, Matt Upson and Marc Albrighton, wants to add depth to his squad before the deadline but concedes the process is "complicated".

"We are looking to bring more players in," he said.

"I don't think it's right to talk about players publicly when we've not achieved the deals. The only one that is in the public domain and has been for a couple of weeks is Esteban Cambiasso.

"We've not really made too much progress on that as things stand but I'm still hopeful something could be done. It may not be football issues.

"It's slightly more complicated than I'm prepared to discuss."

He added: "Unfortunately at times it's quite a complicated process. It appears to be a case of various 'representatives' coming out of the woodwork so it's a case of getting to the bottom of who represents who and trying to achieve the goal, which is to add players to the squad.

"We'll have to see what happens. If deals can be done and they are the right people then fine.

"I think it's fair to say we could do with one or two more players to give the squad more strength in depth but that's not to say I'm not pleased with the players we have already.

"But it's probably going to be important to have one or two more players available to go from window to window."

Leicester travel to Chelsea this weekend on the back of a spirited opening-day draw at home to Everton which Pearson admits has helped ease his side into the new season.

"The atmosphere has been good all through pre-season anyway, but it's just nice to get off to a start in which we've learned quite a bit about ourselves and the qualities that are required to perform at this level," he said.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport