Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Pantilimon prepared for battle

Published 18/07/2014 | 11:18

Costel Pantilimon left Manchester City for the Stadium of Light last month
Costel Pantilimon left Manchester City for the Stadium of Light last month

Sunderland new boy Costel Pantilimon is gearing up for a month-long battle with Vito Mannone for a place in Gus Poyet's Barclays Premier League team.

The 27-year-old Romanian left Manchester City for the Stadium of Light last month in the search for regular first-team football.

However, in order to achieve that this season, he will have to oust Italian Mannone, the Black Cats' Player of the Year for last season, and that is a battle be believes will be fought out during the remainder of pre-season.

Pantilimon told the Sunderland Echo: "At this moment, I think everyone is fighting for their position. There's a long period until we start the Premier League.

"It's normal for everyone to work hard, train hard and after that, we'll see what happens. I think everyone wants to be in the first XI. We'll see.

"Vito is a good guy and a good keeper. I know that. But whatever happens, it's important that it helps the team.

"It's not just competition for us, it's everyone in the team. At this moment, no-one is in the starting XI."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport