Sport Soccer

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Palace ponder Odemwingie move

Published 07/02/2013 | 09:12

Peter Odemwingie is a target for Crystal Palace
Peter Odemwingie is a target for Crystal Palace

Controversial West Brom striker Peter Odemwingie is attracting interest from npower Championship promotion-chasers Crystal Palace.

  • Go To

The Eagles have sounded out the possibility of taking Odemwingie on loan with a view to a possible permanent move in the summer if they are promoted to the Barclays Premier League, Press Association Sport understands.

Odemwingie, 31, saw his hopes of a move to QPR break down when the two clubs could not agree terms on transfer deadline day having tried to push the transfer through by driving to Loftus Road, an act described by Baggies head coach Steve Clarke as "total lunacy".

The Nigeria international has launched a series of Twitter attacks against the club since having his transfer request rejected.

But it remains to be seen whether Albion would allow him to leave at this juncture, if Palace could afford his £39,000-a-week salary or whether Odemwingie wants to drop out of the top flight.

Odemwingie was largely attracted by a salary on offer of nearly £70,000 a week at QPR.

Clarke is aware Odemwingie's departure would reduce his options but is also conscious his actions have not gone down well in some parts of the dressing room.

Odemwingie returned to training this week after being allowed to miss the weekend clash with Tottenham.

West Brom are also braced for a renewed attempt by Blackburn to sign winger Jerome Thomas although it could now only be on loan with the closure of the transfer window. Thomas was close to making a £600,000 move last Thursday to Ewood Park but the deal failed to go through in time.

Rovers boss Michael Appleton - a former West Brom number two - confirmed last week he was interested in signing Thomas.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport