Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


The words of abuse may differ, but all referees get targeted

Published 20/06/2014 | 02:30

Referee Rhona Daly shows the red card
Referee Rhona Daly shows the red card

Rhona Daly has been a FIFA-approved referee for more than 10 years and officiates at men's matches as well as women's. Regular League of Ireland attendees will know the name.

  • Go To

"There seems to be more acceptance now of women in the role of referee and assistant referee," she says. "When I started in 2003, it was all very new. There was only one other female officiating at that level so spectators and players were not used to seeing women working at matches. Now there are four women regularly officiating at Premier and First Division and International games so it's not so unexpected."

Despite a greater acceptance, Daly has to contend with verbal abuse on a regular basis – much of it inspired by her gender. "Unfortunately, with the sport of soccer there has always be verbal abuse and, until there is a complete mindset change, I fear this will continue to be the case.

"The words used when supporters shout at female officials differ from those aimed at the male officials, but unfortunately we all get targeted."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport