Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 1

Spain ESP 0

Ongoing

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Frank Lampard apologises over 9/11 behaviour

Published 25/07/2014 | 07:38

Frank Lampard has apologised for his behaviour on the night of 9/11 and vowed to visit the memorial in the city
Frank Lampard has apologised for his behaviour on the night of 9/11 and vowed to visit the memorial in the city

New York City’s newest signing Frank Lampard has apologised over his crass behaviour on the night of the 9/11 tragedy and promised to pay his respects at the memorial site.

The 36 year-old was yesterday unveiled in front of the press and Lampard decided to use the opportunity to apologise for any offence caused by his actions in 2001.

Lampard was one of four Chelsea players who abused American tourists stranded at Heathrow in the immediate aftermath of the September 11 attacks, where they “drunkenly stripped, swore and vomited” in front of the upset group.

The New York Daily News retold the story earlier this week under the headline: “British soccer star poised to join NY team once mocked Americans after 9/11 attacks,” and there was an immediate backlash to the England international.

One fan, Midas Mulligan, wrote: “He better be down there sweeping the grounds at 1WTC EVERY DAMN DAY, after he publicly apologises to every American for being a s***bag of highest order. Maybe then, and only then, will I consider supporting him.”

Lampard explained he had not meant to cause any offence and how it was totally out of character.

“I categorically did not set out to insult anyone or behave badly in front of the Americans,” he explained.

“I’m very sensitive to the issue and the tragedy. I have some regrets. I was naive and a young boy at the time.

"I was out on a day I shouldn’t have been – I certainly wouldn’t do it today. I’ve tried in the last 13 years at Chelsea to be a good man, not just a good footballer but a good man off the pitch.”

Lampard will back up his words with a visit to the 9/11 memorial in New York to pay his respects while he is in the city concluding his two-year deal.

He explained: “It’s very important to pay respect. It’s a huge memorial and I will certainly go there to pay my respects.”

On the subject of his international future, the 106-cap player was keeping his cards close to his chest.

"I've had a bit of time after the World Cup, which was obviously a huge disappointment," Lampard said at his unveiling in Brooklyn.

"I now need to think about England and think about what I want to do with that. I haven't got a complete answer, but now I know where I'll be playing my football next year I can make that decision."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport