Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 0

Poland POL 1

Ongoing

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Duff suffers cup defeat on his Melbourne City debut

Published 13/08/2014 | 02:30

Damien Duff suffered defeat on his competitive debut for Melbourne losing 3-1 to Sydney. Photo by Clint Hughes/Getty Images
Damien Duff suffered defeat on his competitive debut for Melbourne losing 3-1 to Sydney. Photo by Clint Hughes/Getty Images

Damien Duff's competitive debut for Melbourne City culminated in defeat, with the Irishman playing 62 minutes of his new club's FFA Cup defeat to Sydney.

Duff is settling into his new life Down Under after parting company with Fulham at the end of last season and heading to foreign pastures with a view to sampling a different lifestyle before eventually coming home.

He linked up with the newly branded Melbourne outfit - a wing of Manchester City's operation - who do not begin their first league campaign under this guise until October. This round-of-32 match in the cup competition attracted a crowd of 2,800 and the Ballyboden man was withdrawn with his team trailing by one goal.

Melbourne subsequently equalised to bring the game to extra-time, but Sydney struck twice from the spot to register a 3-1 success.

Duff did threaten to score, but is still finding his feet in new surrounds after injury.

Spanish striker David Villa will assist Duff for the first part of the Australian season. However, he is on loan from the New York City operation and will return to link up with the MLS debutants next March along with their other marquee recruit Frank Lampard.

Duff arrived in Australia at the beginning of the month and starred in his first friendly appearance against a weakened Bolton Wanderers selection.

Across the globe, it's been a good week for his former international colleague Andy O'Brien. He returned from a lengthy absence to help Vancouver Whitecaps register a 2-0 MLS success over Kansas.

O'Brien, who won 26 caps for Ireland, joined Vancouver two years ago following his release from Leeds United. The veteran had been out of action since June before his Sunday comeback.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport