Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Deila: Brown's spat with Collins is in the past

Ronnie Esplin

Published 19/06/2014 | 02:30

John Collins has been appointed as assistant to new Celtic boss Ronny Deila. Photo: Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images
John Collins has been appointed as assistant to new Celtic boss Ronny Deila. Photo: Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images

Celtic manager Ronny Deila has played down the prospect of any possible friction between skipper Scott Brown and new assistant boss John Collins.

  • Go To

Former Hoops and Scotland midfielder Collins was confirmed in the post on Tuesday, with youth coach John Kennedy also set to land a role with the first team.

While at Hibernian in 2007, Brown was in a dressing-room which agitated against boss Collins, with several players reported to have visited chief executive Rod Petrie to raise concerns about training methods and team selection, despite the ex-Monaco midfielder bringing the Scottish League Cup to Leith.

Deila said: "I talked with Scott about what I'm thinking of doing and we have agreed on everything. If they had something in the past, they are grown-up people and I know there is going to be no trouble.

"It is the same with John and me. We need strong personalities, we need many opinions and we have to handle them in a good way and then we will progress and produce good results for Celtic.

"Scott is a fantastic captain so, of course, he will be captain this season."

The former Stromsgodset boss, appointed Celtic manager this month following the departure of Neil Lennon, was keen to stress he had been behind, rather than simply rubber-stamped, the recruitment of Collins.

"It was, of course, my choice," he said. "We had a lot of options. I am very pleased to get him here."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport