Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Capital One Cup round-up: Walters on the double as QPR and Villa make early exits

Published 27/08/2014 | 21:45

Stoke City's Jonathan Walters celebrates scoring against Portsmouth, during the Capital One Cup Second Round match at the Britannia Stadium
Stoke City's Jonathan Walters celebrates scoring against Portsmouth, during the Capital One Cup Second Round match at the Britannia Stadium
Jonathan Walters of Stoke City attempts to move away from Johnny Ertl d of Portsmouth during the Capital One Cup Second Round match at the Britannia Stadium

Irish international Jon Walters claimed a brace for Stoke as the Potters advanced in the Capital One Cup, while QPR and Aston Villa made early exits from the competition.

In front of a paltry crowd at the Britannia, Walters struck either side of half-time to knock Portsmouth out of the cup to mark his first start of season, with Peter Crouch grabbing a late goal against his former employers to put a gloss on the scoreline after further good work from Walters.

A goal 13 minutes from time from Adam McGurk saw Burton claim the Premier League scalp of QPR in what has been a poor week for the Rs. The unexpected defeat follows their 4-0 thrashing at the hands of Spurs at the weekend.

Aston Villa too fell to lowly opposition when Leyton Orient left Villa Park with the spoils after Romain Vincelot scored with two minutes remaining.

Sunderland claimed a 3-0 victory at St. Andrews with goals from Jordi Gomez, Adam Johnson and Conor Wickham enough to safely book their passage to the next round.

A late goal from James Hanson ensured Bradford defeated 10-man Leeds United in the Yorkshire derby.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport