Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Neill sticks up for Premier League

Published 15/03/2013 | 12:51

Martin O'Neill still thinks the Premier League can hold its own
Martin O'Neill still thinks the Premier League can hold its own

Martin O'Neill insists the Barclays Premier League cannot be judged on England's failure to have a club in the Champions League quarter-finals for the first time in 17 years.

Arsenal's heroic victory over Bayern Munich in Germany on Wednesday evening was still not enough for them to reach the last eight as they followed Manchester United, Manchester City and Chelsea out of the competition.

However, while some commentators have suggested that is a reflection of the dwindling power of the Premier League, O'Neill, who led Celtic into the continent's most prestigious club competition, does not concur. He said: "I'm afraid I don't agree with that, I don't agree with the reasoning behind it, let me put it this way."

O'Neill added: "Everybody can have their own opinion about whether the league is strong or not, but if you start making judgments of a whole league simply on the back of a couple of results in the Champions League, I'm afraid I don't buy that and never have done.

"Last season, for instance, Chelsea won the Champions League from our league.

"We saw a game the other night, a fantastic game - Barcelona were absolutely magnificent in the match against AC Milan.

"However, if the ball that hit the post had gone into the net, it might have been a long way back for Barcelona.

"Just let's say hypothetically they had been beaten - would that have meant that the Italian league was stronger than the Spanish league on the evidence of that result?

"I'm afraid I don't agree with that."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport