Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 1

Spain ESP 0

Ongoing

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


N'Diaye: Newcastle is must-win

Published 08/04/2013 | 16:02

Alfred N'Diaye is targeting three points against Newcastle
Alfred N'Diaye is targeting three points against Newcastle

Sunderland midfielder Alfred N'Diaye believes victory in next weekend's Tyne-Wear derby with Newcastle is now imperative in the battle for Barclays Premier League survival.

Sunderland took a half-time lead at Chelsea in Paolo Di Canio's first game as manager on Sunday but conceded two goals early in the second half to fall to a 2-1 loss. Next for the Black Cats is Newcastle on Sunday at St James' Park, seeking to avoid their winless run extending to 10 games.

"Everybody was disappointed because, as a minimum, we wanted to get a draw from the game," N'Diaye said in the Sunderland Echo.

"We thought we could get that. In the first half, we looked dangerous and had chances. I thought we played very well and were unlucky because Chelsea only had two or three chances to get a goal.

"Just before they equalised, we had a corner and 30 seconds later, they scored. That's not good.

"It's not good mentally for us to concede so early in the second half. We went into half-time 1-0 up, we had a corner and 30 seconds after, they'd scored a goal.

"It's very bad that things like that can happen.

"Every time we think we play well and fight, it doesn't matter. We need points.

"We've not won a game in two months and that's not good. It's not normal.

"Now we don't have a choice. We need to win games, against Newcastle and Everton."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport