Sport Soccer

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Moyes on the brink

Published 08/05/2013 | 18:51

David Moyes is reportedly closing in on the Manchester United hotseat
David Moyes is reportedly closing in on the Manchester United hotseat

Manchester United are expected to confirm David Moyes as their next manager.

  • Go To

Although there has been no announcement from the club following on from Sir Alex Ferguson's retirement bombshell, Moyes is understood to be top of their list of candidates to replace the Scot.

It is impossible to see Moyes turning the offer down and as his contract with Everton is due to expire in the summer anyway, there is not thought to be any reason for the appointment to be delayed beyond the next 48 hours, with the potential for the process to be concluded as early as Thursday.

It would see Moyes becoming United's 20th manager, and the seventh Scot, joining an illustrious list, which includes Sir Matt Busby, Tommy Docherty and, of course, Ferguson himself.

As rumours swept around Manchester on Tuesday night of Ferguson's impending departure, it did seem there were only three plausible candidates, Moyes, Jose Mourinho and Borussia Dortmund coach Jurgen Klopp.

Given the short timescale United are working to, it was impossible to imagine Klopp resigning before Dortmund's Champions League final with Bayern Munich, whilst Sir Bobby Charlton, who has significant influence at Old Trafford, does not believe Mourinho's capacity for external and internal conflict sits well.

That leaves Moyes, even if his European experience, limited to just 26 games, which have yielded 14 wins, is less than United have managed in the last three seasons alone.

"The qualities we are looking for are the ones that have been inherent at Manchester United for many years," chief executive David Gill told MUTV. "Our two most successful eras were with managers who got involved with all aspects of the club, from the youth team to the first team, and had that degree of loyalty and understanding of the football club.

"Clearly he has to have the requisite football experience, both in terms of domestic and European experience. It is a small pool but we will move forward."

Moyes' name is openly being discussed in the United dressing room and it now would be a sensational development if the 50-year-old was not installed, even if he could well end the season at Everton as Ferguson is not standing down until after his final game at West Brom on May 19.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport