Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Moyes gives backing to Ferdinand

Published 04/02/2014 | 09:27

Centre-back: Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United)
0 fouls - This might not have been a vintage season for Ferdinand but his touch has not completely deserted him. Of all defenders to have played 10 league games or more, only Ferdinand has not committed a foul.
Centre-back: Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United) 0 fouls - This might not have been a vintage season for Ferdinand but his touch has not completely deserted him. Of all defenders to have played 10 league games or more, only Ferdinand has not committed a foul.

Manchester United manager David Moyes insists Rio Ferdinand still has a role to play at the club despite using the veteran defender sparingly this season.

  • Go To

The 35-year-old has made just 13 appearances this term, and only two since November, as he struggles with a knee injury and increased competition for places in the centre of the champions' defence.

Ferdinand's contract is set to expire in the summer but, with Jonny Evans and Phil Jones both having to be withdrawn during the 2-1 defeat to Stoke at the weekend, Moyes has no qualms with turning to the former England international.

"Rio is back training. He's back and we will continue to use Rio at the right times and the right moments," he told several national newspapers.

"Rio has made a great contribution, especially in the first half of the season. I played him in nearly all the opening eight to 10 games. He was a big part in helping me to settle.

"He has competition at centre-half but he is very much valued and looked at as one of the senior players."

Ferdinand could return to action against Fulham at the weekend when fellow central defender Nemanja Vidic will also be available after serving a three-game suspension.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport