Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Mourinho: Penalty changed things

Published 30/04/2014 | 22:23

Fernando Torres of Chelsea looks away as Diego Costa prepares to take his penalty at Stamford Bridge.
Fernando Torres of Chelsea looks away as Diego Costa prepares to take his penalty at Stamford Bridge.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho thought his side were better than Atletico Madrid until the Diego Costa penalty which broke Blues hearts and sent his side crashing out of the Champions League at the semi-final stage.

Atletico set up a derby final with city rivals Real with a 3-1 victory at Stamford Bridge.

A goalless first leg left the tie finely poised with a place in the May 24 Lisbon showpiece at stake against Mourinho's former club, who emphatically ended Bayern Munich's title defence on Tuesday night.

Fernando Torres gave Chelsea the lead against his former club before Adrian equalised on the stroke of half-time, with Costa putting Atleti ahead from the spot in the 60th minute. Arda Turan added the third with 18 minutes remaining.

"Until the penalty they were not the best team. Until the penalty we had the game, had more possession, had more chances," Mourinho told Sky Sports 1.

"We scored a great goal but we conceded a poor goal. We knew in set pieces we could have a chance.

"John Terry's header was fantastic and the save was amazing and after that the penalty killed the game. There was only one team. The reality is from that moment the game is lost."

The result was Mourinho's fourth successive loss at the semi-final stage as the 2012 winners were eliminated and left to focus on their slim Premier League title hopes.

However, the Chelsea boss refused to criticise his side.

"I can't be critical with a group of players that from day one is giving everything, trying everything," he said.

"With problems with injuries, suspensions, with players that cannot play in the Champions League, I'm proud of them.

"Obviously it's disappointing to lose a semi-final second leg, especially at home, but I am proud of them. I prefer to say we did everything that was possible for us."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport