Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Mourinho: Cole deserves contract

Published 10/12/2013 | 14:32

Ashley Cole has struggled to hold down a regular first-team place at Chelsea
Ashley Cole has struggled to hold down a regular first-team place at Chelsea

Jose Mourinho believes Ashley Cole will earn a contract extension at Chelsea despite the England left-back no longer being guaranteed a first-team place.

  • Go To

Cole, 33 this month, will on Wednesday make his first Chelsea appearance since the loss at Newcastle on November 2 in the Champions League Group E clash with Steaua Bucharest and is out of contract at the end of this season.

The former Arsenal defender struggled with a rib injury and then saw Spain right-back Cesar Azpilicueta preferred on his 'wrong' flank, leading to speculation over his future.

Yet Blues boss Mourinho believes Cole's stock at Chelsea, who he joined in August 2006, remains high.

"Naturally he will get his contract because he's a valuable player for us," Mourinho said.

"Even if you are not playing every game and you are not a first-choice player, like he was always, I don't think sometimes it means that you are not well, you are not in well conditions, you are not deserving a new contract.

"I feel he's fine. And I think tomorrow he's going to show that he's fine. He starts tomorrow."

Mourinho has never doubted Cole's professionalism, but insists the England centurion will have to be patient with the Blues.

"Naturally with the evolution of the season, he will play in matches," Mourinho said.

"Can he recover or not 100 per cent his position? I don't know. But he will always play and he will always be a good player.

"It's easy to feel that he's not happy, that he's not comfortable with a situation, but the way he behaves, the way he trains (is) super professional, as always.

"As always (he's a) fantastic trainer, fantastic professional. When he's on the bench behind me, I can feel that he's there to win, even if he's not on the pitch."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport