Sport Soccer

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Molloy gives first blood to Mervue

Mervue United 1 Longford Town 0

Published 19/10/2013 | 05:00

Despite this fine win at Fahy's Field uncertainty still surrounds Mervue United's Airtricity League future.

  • Go To

Despite this fine win at Fahy's Field uncertainty still surrounds Mervue United's Airtricity League future.

The FAI have repeatedly stated their desire to have one all-Galway team operating next year, but Mervue maintained their enterprising form – claiming a seventh victory on the trot.

Buoyed by their recent successes Mervue weren't short on confidence as they quickly seized the initiative.

Longford struggled to contain the tidy home outfit in the first-half as Mervue twice went close before Jason Molloy grabbed a delightful opener in the 14th minute.

The woodwork denied Gary Shanahan in the sixth minute and then Longford 'keeper Chris Bennion saved from Michael Duffy before Molloy floated a sweet effort into the top right-hand corner from 25 yards.

Longford were hampered further in the 26th minute when Corie Treacy was red carded for a foul on Duffy.

Ten-man Longford did improve for a spell after the restart as David O'Sullivan provided a pacy threat up front. Yet Mervue were guided by promising teenage attacker Ryan Manning, who has been watched by Everton this season, and held firm.

Mervue United – O'Malley; King, Sinnott, Walsh, Ludden; Shanahan, Curran, O'Mahony, Molloy (Woods 83); Duffy (Lavelle 66), Manning.

Longford Town – Bennion; Haverty, Deans, Hope, Quinn; Purdy (Doyle 76), Treacy, Quinn, O'Brien (O'Connor 46), Shaw, O'Sullivan (O'Hanlon 81).

REF – K Callanan (Cork).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport