Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


'Milan almost sold Balotelli'

Published 04/07/2014 | 08:17

AC Milan have claimed that they almost sold Mario Balotelli before the start of the World Cup
AC Milan have claimed that they almost sold Mario Balotelli before the start of the World Cup

AC Milan president Silvio Berlusconi has revealed he came close to selling striker Mario Balotelli to an unnamed Premier League club prior to the start of the World Cup.

  • Go To

Balotelli has been strongly linked with a return to England this summer, with Arsenal reportedly keen to acquire his services for around 35million euros.

The former Manchester City striker scored just one goal in three appearances in Brazil as Italy suffered early elimination from the tournament.

"Other than Italy, I lost during the World Cup," Berlusconi was quoted as saying in Gazzetta dello Sport.

"I was about to sell Balotelli to an English team for several millions. But after this World Cup who will buy him any more?"

Milan vice-president Barbara Berlusconi last month hinted at the possibility of a Balotelli transfer this summer by saying he is "replaceable".

Balotelli's agent Mino Raiola also opened the door for his client's move away from the San Siro.

Raiola claimed the 23-year-old was "sad and desperate" after being widely criticised in the Italian media following his disappointing World Cup.

Balotelli, who still has four years left on his contract with the Rossoneri, has scored 28 goals in 54 matches for Milan since his move from Manchester City in January 2013.

Milan are keen to sell Balotelli for financial reasons. The Rossoneri will not compete in Europe next season for the first time in 16 years after finishing a disappointing eighth in Serie A.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport