Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Michael Owen: My Man City/Liverpool best XI would feature just four Reds

No place for Daniel Sturridge in a composite team from the former Reds striker.

Published 12/04/2014 | 12:58

Liverpool's 20 goal striker Daniel Sturridge did not make Michael Owen's team.
Liverpool's 20 goal striker Daniel Sturridge did not make Michael Owen's team.

The clash of Liverpool and Manchester City at Anfield tomorrow could well decide the destination of the Premier League and Michael Owen has chosen his best possible eleven.

  • Go To

The former Liverpool hotshot is eagerly looking forward to the mouth-watering game and says it is fitting that these two will lock horns given the entertainment they have provided all season.

“The brand of football favoured by Liverpool and Manchester City has illuminated this season’s competition, the desire of their managers to be bold in their efforts to win games worthy of the applause I have no doubt will greet both teams, whatever the outcome,” he wrote in his column in The Telegraph.

“This is a showdown between the two most entertaining sides in the country and – should this prove a decisive fixture – the winners will deserve the title.”

On the topic of the crucial game, the former England striker also chose what he considered to be the strongest starting team with both squads available.

Simon Mignolet and Glen Johnson can consider themselves unfortunate to miss out, while the exclusion of red-hot Daniel Sturridge is the most obvious omission, with Sergio Aguero getting the nod.

“A toss of the coin between Agüero and Sturridge this season. Agüero wins because he is world-class and Sturridge is just getting there,” he explained.

“I’d have Sturridge as my first choice sub, though!”

Michael Owen’s XI:

Joe Hart; Pablo Zabaleta, Vincent Kompany, Martin Skrtel, Aleksander Kolarov; Raheem Sterling, Steven Gerrard, Yaya Toure, David Silva; Sergio  Aguero, Luis Suarez.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport