Sport Soccer

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Meyler faces no action

Published 07/05/2014 | 18:37

Hull City's David Meyler, below, will not face retrospective action for an apparent stamp on Manchester United's Adnan Januzaj, above
Hull City's David Meyler, below, will not face retrospective action for an apparent stamp on Manchester United's Adnan Januzaj, above

Hull City's David Meyler will not be banned for the FA Cup final for his apparent stamp on Manchester United's Adnan Januzaj after the Football Association decided not to take retrospective action against the Irish midfielder.

The referee, Craig Pawson, has told FA officials that he was looking directly at the incident which took place during Tuesday's 3-1 win for United at Old Trafford.

Under the rules allowing cases to be dealt with retrospectively, as the referee had a clear, unobstructed view it is not classed as the incident having not been seen by match officials, Press Association Sport understands.

United's stand-in manager Ryan Giggs was incensed by the injury suffered to the 18-year-old winger.

He said: "I didn't see [the incident] but I have seen his leg, it goes from his knee to his ankle. It is the second time it has happened to him this season and it's not great to see.

"It is terrible, his leg. He needs protecting. He is a brilliant player, he is exciting and the authorities need to stamp down on it, whether that can happen now... but it was bad. I have not seen the stamp but I have seen his leg and it is bad. It is a joke."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport