Sport Soccer

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Messi bags treble as Ajax crumble in Nou Camp

Published 19/09/2013 | 05:00

Lionel Messi struck a hat-trick
Lionel Messi struck a hat-trick

Lionel Messi scored a superb Champions League hat-trick as Barcelona ran Ajax ragged in their Group H opener at the Nou Camp.

  • Go To

The Argentinian striker was at his effortless best, despatching a fine first-half free-kick and then producing two clinical finishes either side of Gerard Pique's header.

Ajax were passengers in the second period and were denied even a consolation when Victor Valdes saved Kolbeinn Sigthorsson's penalty.

Messi, perhaps inspired by Cristiano Ronaldo's treble for Real Madrid on Tuesday night, now has 62 Champions League goals and a record four hat-tricks.

In Arsenal's Group F, Napoli extended their perfect start in Serie A to the Champions League with a 2-1 win over 10-man Borussia Dortmund, last season's runner-up.

Prized signing Gonzalo Higuain put Napoli ahead 29 minutes in on a rainy night at San Paolo Stadium by heading home a cross from Camilo Zuniga, after which Dortmund coach Juergen Klopp was sent off for protesting.

Higuain was also at the centre of the action when goalkeeper Roman Weidenfeller was shown a red card for using his hands outside his area to deny the striker in first-half added time.

Lorenzo Insigne doubled Napoli's lead in the 67th minute with a free-kick which curled into the top corner.

Zuniga scored an own goal to give Dortmund hope in the 87th minute, but Napoli held on.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport