Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


McDaid keeps Derry title hopes alive

Limerick FC 0 Derry City 1

Published 29/07/2013 | 05:00

Derry City kept their title hopes alive with victory over Limerick to climb into third position of the league.

  • Go To

David McDaid was the Candystripes hero as he sprung from the bench to hand his side all three points.

Limerick enjoyed the majority of the first-half possession but it was Derry who squandered a host of chances through Michael Rafter, Michael Duffy and a brilliant acrobatic effort from Ruaidhri Higgins which just flashed wide.

Derry showed early signs of a European hangover, and were quite happy to sit back and hit Limerick on the counter-attack.

Rafter had a gilt-edged opportunity inside five minutes but his shot went harmlessly over the crossbar – a miss that seemed to set the tone for the striker's evening in front of goal.

The Shannonsiders were denied a strong penalty claim midway through the half when Shaun Kelly went down in the area but referee Paul McLaughlin waved their pleas away.

But five minutes before the break, McLoughlin had no hesitation in pointing to the spot when Simon Madden was tripped by Dave O'Leary. But Rafter saw his tame effort easily saved by Barry Ryan.

The home side's best chance of the game fell to Joe Gamble but he somehow failed to find the back of the net from just a couple of yards out.

Five minutes later, Derry grabbed the winner.

Robbie Williams got caught under a high ball which allowed McDaid in behind him, and the striker calmly slotted passed Ryan.

And McDaid didn't underplay the importance of his side's win, saying: "That was our most important game of the season.

"We knew we had to win. We created a lot of chances and fortunately I took one.

"It was a big downer to be put on the bench but hopefully this gives the manager some food for thought for Friday night".

Limerick FC – Ryan; Kelly, O'Callaghan, Williams, Tracy; Bradley, Gamble (Feeney 85), O'Leary (Sheedy 79); Bossekota (Nzuzi, 87) Curran, Galbraith.

Derry City – Doherty; Madden, Deery, McBride, Osbourne; P McEleney, Kavanagh (Patterson 72), Higgins , McNamee (Houston 65); Duffy, Rafter (McDaid 52).

Ref – P McLoughlin (Monaghan).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport