Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Matic raring to go

Published 17/01/2014 | 07:37

Nemanja Matic is eager to get involved straight away
Nemanja Matic is eager to get involved straight away

New Chelsea signing Nemanja Matic is eager to be involved in Sunday's Barclays Premier League clash with Manchester United.

  • Go To

Matic began his second spell at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday after completing a transfer from Benfica reported by the Portuguese club to be worth £20.75million.

The 25-year-old left west London three years ago as part of the deal which saw David Luiz move from Benfica.

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho views Matic as the defensive midfielder his team are missing and the Serbia international is keen to make an instant impact against United.

"The coach has to decide but I am ready. I'm in training, I played (for Benfica) on Sunday against Porto so I don't have any problems," Matic said.

United will arrive in the capital as champions but their chances of winning the title are as good as finished as they trail leaders Arsenal by 11 points.

Chelsea are only two points behind the Gunners, however, and could finish the weekend as leaders themselves if results go their way.

Matic believes the Blues will develop into a dominant force in Europe as well as England.

"Chelsea are a very good team and have very good young players. In the next few years Chelsea will show power," he said.

"Of course we need a bit of time because if a player is young he needs time to show all his qualities but I think Chelsea will be one of the best teams in Europe."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport