Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Martinez will wait on Lukaku

Published 07/05/2014 | 11:47

Roberto Martinez, right, is willing to wait to land his man on a permanent deal
Roberto Martinez, right, is willing to wait to land his man on a permanent deal

Everton manager Roberto Martinez does not expect the future of on-loan striker Romelu Lukaku to be finalised until after the World Cup.

  • Go To

The Spaniard wants to get much of his summer transfer business done before the tournament starts in Brazil on June 14 but the situation with the Belgium international is likely to take longer than that to resolve.

Lukaku has scored 14 Premier League goals this season and the Toffees are likely to face competition from other clubs for his signature if Chelsea decide to sell.

A good World Cup could push up his value higher than the reported £20million price tag but Martinez would not wish poor form on the 20-year-old in order to keep his fee down.

"I don't think that's my worry. The worry would be that if the deal was a cheap one, it would be because he has had a torrid time and hasn't fulfilled his potential," he told the Liverpool Echo.

"We are too close to Romelu to hope he has a poor tournament. We hope he has a really good World Cup - and then decides to come to us.

"We'll see what's the best thing for everyone but everything will be in stages: how Chelsea are doing in their own squad and how that frees some players.

"It's going to take a bit of time and I don't think Romelu's situation is going to be resolved before the World Cup, in truth. I think it will be after the World Cup."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport